DNF: Do Not Finish

I try really, really hard not to DNF a book.

But there are “things” that I can’t get past. There are also moods, and weeks, and a thousand little nitpicked issues that add up to a DNF. I don’t always understand my vehement dislike, but I’ve decided I don’t want to write about DNFs.

I hate–that word might be a bit dramatic–the idea of barfing a bad review at any semi-well written book. I have a preference. A full blown case of the subjectivities. So, I don’t want to put another author on blast, just because I have the subjectivities. (Yes, I made a word up. Yes, I’m using it at least three times before this is over.)

I’m not saying don’t write a negative review if you feel strongly. Honestly, do you. But as for me, I’m going to admire and respect and cheer-lead. Does that mean I’ll pretend that diamond doesn’t have a flaw? Nope. I’ll be honest, but there’s got to be balance. There’s got to be an aspect I love.

My goal is for this review adventure to be Katie’s Treasure Trove of Never Ending Awesomeness. Where there are lollipop trees (exactly like the original Willa Wonka), and that giant gummy bear thingy, too. Tubs of hot baths filled with the perfect blend of essential oils and epsom salt. Coffee fountains–both cold and warm. Soft blankets. A twenty-four hour Amazon distribution center. Fantasy. Romance. Mushy, mushy love, and those sex scenes you would not be comfortable reading aloud. Basically, the necessities plus.

As for now, I’m going to nurse my case of subjectivities with an old book, and once I’ve re-read this magical experience a millionth time, I’ll review it. I’ll add it to my KTTONEA. (Yup, that’s a shitty acronym. You’re welcome.) Because here in KTTONEA (Population me.), we (Still only me. But you get it.) want to share the magic of book hangovers and impart the wisdom of fierce female leads. We want your reading experience to be an escape and an inspiration. We want your panties to metaphorically catch on fire (Ha! I went there. I wasn’t sure I could.).

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “DNF: Do Not Finish

  1. I agree with your sentiments 100%. Unless there is something about a book that is genuinely offensive, I say just put it down and move on quietly. Behind every poorly executed book is a creative spirit who took a swing and gave it (I like to think, anyway) their best shot. Nobody bats 500. We all strike out from time to time. There is no benefit in trashing a creative individual when they don’t get a hit. I know, that was a bunch of baseball references. My eldest progeny has their final play-off game this evening. Guess I’ve got baseball on the brain. Your decision to write reviews for the great stuff and let your silence speak for itself on the rest is admirable. If more people chose to focus their time and energy on celebrating the wonderful in life… life would be a bit more wonderful all around.

    DNF books are a struggle aren’t they? I used to feel a certain loyalty owed to the writer of a book I picked up to finish the thing. However, the longer my TBR list grows and the more books I read, the more I realize that there just isn’t enough time to push myself through a novel I’m not enjoying. These days, I’ll read enough of it to get a sense of what isn’t working. Once I figure that out, I consider it a valuable lesson learned, send up a silent prayer of thanks to Baldor for putting it in my hands, and I move on to the next book on my list.

    Thanks for the post, and happy writing to you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment